Do We NEED to Fix our D? How? 10 Questions

BigBlue

[1] Has our Defense structurally deteriorated?

[2] Or does it just need better scheming/ prep?

[3] Is the sole problem the injury bug?

[4] Is complacency undermining intensity ("my starting job is safe" because MOS is loyal)?

[5] Do significant personnel changes need to be made now (by trade/PR shift/NFL jump ins)?

[6] Do we just need more rotation to stay fresher?

[7] Do we blitz too much or  too little?

[8] Is it too late/early  to push the panic button?

[9] Are Walters & McManus doing too little? Do our coaches need to adjust their thinking?

[10] Did our players just fall into a lull in the middle of a long successful season - - a sleepy abberation which will be cured by tonight's smelling salts?

The Bombers have been amazingly successful with their "next guy up", "plug and play" replacement scheme for the last 2 years.  With so many injuries to the LB and DB groups this season, the replacement system is breaking down and at times failing.  They need an influx of new bodies injected into their bloodstream to rejuvenate their depth and push competition for starting jobs to a higher level.  Players they find this year will compensate for players they lose in F.A. next year.

2 rookies on the same side of the secondary (and far down  the depth chart at that) backup special teams starting at one linebacker spot because of injuries, one of the star defensive ends playing hurt and didn't finish the game, safety back for the first time in almost a year.... yeah I'd say the biggest issue was the injuries. 

There are some thing though that have been needing addressed all year though. Stove was never replaced on the DL and that presence is missed . 

Bottom line the guys in the secondary need to be better. Whether it is the guys playing being better or new guys getting the chance. 

One or two stops in the first half that game might have been a winnable one.