Canada does not want Henry Burris...

Brandon

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/henry-burris-cfl-quarterback-to-receive-citizenship-help-1.3021688

Interesting article,   how is it that some of the guys that played for us managed to stay in Canada?  

I'm no expert but I believe it was a recent change in the immigration rules that has screwed things up for Burris so it didn't apply to some. Also I think players who married Canadian women would have a different process as well.

Was posted somewhere that immigration canada is working on a solution for hank.. So I'd consider this to be a moo point.. He will get his canadian citizenship.

tumblr_n9dujyvVcn1ti6bhpo1_500.gif

First thing I thought of when I read Spuds comment.   LOL.

I hope things work out for Hank.  Our citizenship rules can sometimes be stupid.

Ridiculous and arbitrary application of the rules.   Hopefully things work out for Hank.

A country does a disservice to itself and all of its citizens to not apply the rules for immigrating. You don't meet the standards set forth then you should not be allowed to be a citizen. Those of us who were born here are damned lucky and privileged. We shouldn't make it easy for just anyone to get in. 

It's interesting that if he was a lower-paid player who needed to work in the off-season (but stayed in Canada during that time), there'd likely be no question about his full-time employment during that time. But because he makes as much as he does as a starting QB, he doesn't technically work from December to May and is thus considered a part-time worker.

It's ridiculous, really.

Hope it gets sorted out quickly. (As much as I don't like Hank as a player, I think he's shown he deserves to be a citizen of this country if he wants to be!)

Ridiculous and arbitrary application of the rules.   Hopefully things work out for Hank.